Coalition for the Protection of Democracy (COPDEM)

Group urges opposition parties to be constructive in criticism


A group under the auspices of Coalition for the Protection of Democracy (COPDEM) has urged opposition parties in the country to be constructive in criticising governments at the state and national levels.


The National Chairman of COPDEM, Prince Rwang Pam, gave the advice Saturday at the National Convention and Democracy Icons Award organised by the group in Abuja.

Pam, who expressed concern that presently there was no strong political opposition in the country, said opposition was not about developing hatred for a government in power.

“As far as political parties are concerned, we are not hearing their voices. Nobody is actually saying anything.

“An opposition is not about hitting the government or being anti-Tinubu or anti-APC.

“When it is good, say it is good and when it is not good, say it is not good.

“I think that is what an opposition should be; without fear or favour,” he said.

According to him, COPDEM is an opposition, not to politics but to anything that is standing against the health and the well being of the masses.

Pam equally advised politicians, whether in power or not, to love Nigeria and be ready to do the right thing.

He said that the award night was organised to appreciate the champions of democracy.

“Tonight, we pay tribute to the champions of democracy, whose unwavering dedication has paved the way for positive change in our nation, from grassroots activists to visionary leaders.

“Each nominee and award recipient embodies the values of integrity, transparency, and inclusivity that are the cornerstone of a thriving democracy,” he said.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that recipients of the icons award include Late President Umaru Ya’Adua; former President Olusegun Obasanjo; Presidential Candidate of Labour Party, Peter Obi and Femi Falana, SAN.

Others include Bishop Mathew Kukah; Late Minister of Information, Prof. Dora Akunyili; the Yoruba leader, Pa Ayo Adebanjo; Late Dele Giwa; Late Gani Fawehinmi; Sen. Shehu Sani; Oby Ezekwesili, among others.

Speaking to newsmen shortly after the event, Peter Obi, who was represented by Chief Peter Ameh, National Secretary of Coalition of United Political Parties (CUPP), dedicated the award to the Nigerian people.(NAN)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *