You are here
Home > POLITICS > Fayemi declared winner of Ekiti APC gov primary

Fayemi declared winner of Ekiti APC gov primary

The Minister of Solid Mineral Resources, Dr Kayode Fayemi, has been declared the winner of the rescheduled Ekiti State governorship primary of the All Progressives Congress, APC, held on Saturday, May 12, 2018. Fayemi won 941 votes of the 2327 delegates votes accredited.

There were 2618 delegates in all with11 invalid votes.

The returning officer and head of the supervising APC team from Abuja headquarters, Governor Almakura of Nasarawa State, declared Fayemi as winner at 11.20pm at the end of the contentious and hard fought primary after its conclusion by 11.16pm.

Other results at the primary held at Damlek Event Centre, Ado-Ekiti, Ekiti State, were: Kayode Ojo 281; Olufemi Richard Bamisile 179; Oluyede Mayokun 121; Aluko Olugbenga 86; Fatoba Joseph 43; Babafemi Ojudu 10; Opeyemi Bamidele 8; and Ayo Arise 2.

In his acceptance speech, Fayemi thanked all party members for supporting him and also the co-contestants for a well- fought primary. He promised to unite the party and work for its progress.