You are here
Home > NEWS > Buhari inaugurates Revenue Mobilization board, others

Buhari inaugurates Revenue Mobilization board, others

President Muhammadu Buhari on Thursday inaugurated the chairmen and members of Federal Character Commission (FCC), Federal Civil Service Commission (FCSC), and the Revenue Mobilization, Allocation and Fiscal Commission (RMAFC).

The inauguration was attended by Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, Governor Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq of Kwara State, the Chief of Staff to the President, Professor Ibrahim Gambari and some ministers.

The Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Boss Mustapha, who spoke with State House reporters after the inauguration held at the Presidential Villa, Abuja, tasked the newly inaugurated chairman and members of the RMAFC to drive the necessary process to mobilise funds from the non-oil sector in the face of serious shortfall in the nation’s earning occasioned by COVID-19 pandemic.

Mustapha, who said President Buhari charged the three commissions to take their constitutional responsibilities seriously to enable the administration deliver on its Next Level agenda to the Nigerian people, added that they needed to re-energise the system within the remaining three years with their ideas.

He said: “Basically, they have some constitutional responsibilities because all these commissions are mentioned in the constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and so that presupposes that already the constitution has provided for them a mandate. More especially as we are notching towards the end of the President’s tenure.

“We have just spent a year and we have three years to go but there are so many things that we want them to begin to do in terms of re-energizing the system.

“The Federal Character Commission particularly has the responsibilities in the constitution which is very fundamental to ensure equitable distribution of not only offices but even of amenities and benefits and welfare to the people of the country.

“The Revenue Mobilization, Allocation and Fiscal Commission is very critical, particularly now that we have very serious shortfall in our earnings. The essence of the revenue mobilization is to look at the non-oil sector particularly in terms of mobilizing revenue for the country. I believe that now that they have the full compliment of their membership, they should be able to give it the necessary drive.

“The Federal Character Commission is an institution that has the responsibility of looking at the federal civil service in terms of employment, promotion, capacity and we need a new civil service to take us to the next level.”

A member of FCC, Ginika Tor, representing Enugu, while speaking, promised to ensure that what is due to those she represents gets to them.

Abiodun Akinlade, who is representing Ogun State, pledged to ensure equitable distribution of what is due to the people in accordance with the mandate of the commission as enshrined in the constitution.

The newly sworn-in members of RMAFC are Ahmed Yusuf (Taraba); Bello Wamakko (Sokoto); Oladele Gboyega (Osun); Adamu Dibai (Borno); Alfred Egba (Bayelsa) and Hajiya Salamatu Bala (Adamawa).

Muheeda Dankaka was inaugurated as the Chairperson of the FCC with 36 other members of the board, including Henry Ogbulogo (Abia), Salihu Bello (Adamawa), Dorah Daniel (Akwa-Ibom), Ibeabuchi Uche, (Anambra), Mohammed Tijjani (Bauchi), Tonye Okio (Bayelsa) and Silas Macikpah (Benue).

Others were Abba Ali Monguno (Borno), Nsor Atamgba (Cross River), Halims Agoda (Delta), Tobias Chukuemeka (Ebonyi), Imuetinyan Festus (Edo), Sesan Fatoba (Ekiti), Ginika Tor (Enugu), Hamza Mohammed (Gombe), Diogu Uche (Imo) and Lawan Ya’u Roni (Jigawa).

Also sworn-in were Hadiza Muazu (Kaduna), Mohammed Na’iya (Kano), Lawal Garba (Katsina), Abubakar Atiku Bunu (Kebbi), Idris Bello (Kogi), Are Bolaji (Lagos), Nasir Isa Kwarra (Nasarawa), and Suleiman Barau (Niger).

Others were Abiodun Akinlade (Ogun), Olufemi Omosanya (Ondo), Adeoye Olalekan (Osun) Adeniyi Olowofela (Oyo), Stephen Jings (Plateau), Wokocha Augustine (Rivers), Abdullahi Tafida (Sokoto), Alhaji Armaya’u Abubakar (Taraba), Jibril Maigari (Yobe), Sani Garba (Zamfara) and Adamu Sidi-Ali (Federal Capital Territory)

Two members of the Federal Civil Service Commission were sworn-in.

They include Dr Jonah Madugu from Plateau State representing Plateau, Benue and Nasarawa States and Dr Fredrick Ekwem from Imo State, representing Imo and Abia States.