You are here
Home > NEWS > Gbajabiamila wins as House Speaker

Gbajabiamila wins as House Speaker

Hon. Femi Gbajabiamila has emerged the 9th Speaker of the House of Representatives in a keenly contested election between the Lagos lawmaker and  Umar Bago.

Bago, a Niger state lawmaker is a member of the ruling All Progressive Congress (APC) at the Lower Legislative Chamber.

Bago was the Chairman, Committee on NIMASA in the House during the 8th National Assembly while Gbajabiamila was the Leader of the House.

All efforts by the ruling APC to make him step down proved abortive as he insisted that he would shock those who underrated him.

Gbajabiamila, on the other hand, had the full backing of President Muhammadu Buhari and APC. He’s one of the political godsons of Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, the National Leader of the ruling party.

Before the June 11 inauguration, he visited all six geopolitical zones canvassing for support.

Before the inauguration, members who showed interest in the speakership position include Yakub Buba, Alhassan Ado-Doguwa, Babangida Ibrahim-Mahuta, Nkiruka Onyejeocha, Mr Suleiman Aminu, Abubakar Lado, and Muhammed Kazaure.

At the time of this report, counting was ongoing, but fellow lawmakers including his opponent had congratulated Gbajabiamila.